Featured, Government, News

Primary Election Interest Climbs with New Filings

Two members of the current Putnam County Board of Education, Christian Wells and Bruce Knell, were elected to 4-year terms in 2020 and are not up for reelection until 2024. Three members will be elected to the non-partisan Board in the May Primary. Two of the three could be current members Rob Cunningham and Wade Neal. Both of their names will be on ballot. Cunningham is running from Magisterial District 1 and Neal from District 2. Both will be reelected if they tally the most votes in their respective districts unless the top two vote counts for the Board are recorded by Board candidates who reside in Magisterial District 3. If such were to happen, only the higher of Cunningham or Neal would be elected. As of noon, January 18, no one from Magisterial District 3 has filed for the Board. The last day for filing is Saturday, January 29.

While filing may be slow for the Board of Education, such is not the case for Republicans seeking the offices of Circuit Clerk and County Commissioner. No less than four candidates have forked over the $620 filing fee for Circuit Clerk and three candidate the $413 fee for County Commissioner. The four Circuit Court candidates are Stephanie Smith of Winfield, Mike Reynolds of Hometown, Donald Underwood of Hurricane, and Michael Thompson of Poca. Seeking candidacy for County Commission are Steve Deweese of Buffalo, Todd Dillon of Scott Depot, and incumbent Ron Foster of Winfield.

Putnam residents filing with the West Virginia Secretary of State for spots on the November ballot in House of Delegate races has swelled from two on the first day of filing to a total of six on January 18. Seeking Delegate candidacy are: Jesse Lovejoy (19th), Kathie Hess Crouse (19th), Geoff Foster (20th), Jacob Losh (20th), Michael Kidd (21st), and Jarred Cannon (21st). Incumbent State Senator Eric Tarr (R) filed for reelection in the 4th Senatorial District.

Please follow and like us: